Dream Bathroom

br1

I did plenty of research before remodeling and adding a new master bath to our home four years ago. There is a long list of things I’m so glad I included that have since made my life easier.  There are many things I would recommend to anyone who might ask. I’ve had opportunities to share tips with friends and acquaintances who remodeled or built homes.

I critique hotel bathrooms in my head, on surveys and even on this blog.

I have more experience than I want using rest areas and restrooms in stores and restaurants.  I’ve seen a variety of sizes and shapes used, great and poor planning, good and bad features and have an automatic critical comparison mindset whenever I enter a public restroom.  There just isn’t much that surprises me anymore.

Last weekend, we traveled to a bigger city to get new cells installed in the battery of my electric scooter.  Batteries and Bulbs is an impressive place.  After completing that task, we stopped at a few more places.  We had a sufficient amount of gasoline in the car to get us back home, but we ourselves needed refueling.  After some discussion about the variety of options a big city offers, we decided to  eat at a pizza place we had gone to a few years previously.  It is a popular hangout for the college students in that city and we had gone there with our son who was attending the university at the time.

While the GPS application on Mr. Leg’s phone led us to the location, it looked quite different than what we remembered.  While the restaurant had occupied a portion of the building the last time we were there, it had expanded and was now the sole business in the completely new space.  After ordering, we found a table to dine at.  Then I was off to find the bathroom.

Mr. Legs kindly helped me with the heavy door.  I went directly to the handicapped stall and was quite surprised to see such a sight before me.  Never in my life have I seen or even  imagined anything like it.  Amidst the roomy space, pretty tile, baby changing station, and perfectly installed grab bars, was this…

…..

…..

…..

…..

IMG_1330

… a magnificently long and industrial strength TOILET PAPER HOLDER!!!  It was spectacular.  I couldn’t even count how many rolls were lined up on it.  Even on a busy weekend evening for families or on a college football game day, patrons would be hard pressed to find themselves without a sufficient supply of this necessary item when visiting the bathroom. Not only that, but surely such an item means less frequent stocking for employees.  A “win” for everyone involved.

I knew I could never properly explain the contraption to people, so there in the bathroom from my not always easy to maneuver scooter, I got out my phone and snapped a photo.  I have to say I felt a little weird doing that – most people know what that sound on a phone is and might wonder what I would be taking a picture of in there.  But some things require a bit of unconventional action. When I returned to the table, I showed the photo to Mr. Legs.  We were both amazed.  We wondered whose idea it had been, and who had custom made it.  Then, our wondering wandered to whether the place of business saw fit to have one installed in the bathroom for men, who seem to be much less needy for such a thing.   And of course, a trip had to be made into the men’s room to discover that yes, there was indeed a matching one in there as well.  And a photo was secured as proof.

IMG_1334

So I suppose when you’re older, conversation veers toward things like bathroom visits, but likely not about toilet paper holders.  And I suppose people with MS have plenty of discussions about bathroom activities amongst each other, but likely not about toilet paper holders.  Bloggers write about many subjects, but usually not about toilet paper holders.  This discovery just couldn’t be ignored.  It required written documentation.  The world must know about this life-changing invention.  Marvel at it yourselves.  Oogle in awe.  Don’t stall.  Spread the word!  This kind of thing should sweep the country and wipe out the all too common problem of shortages.  There is no end to its possibilities.

Note:  I apologize for the silly bathroom humor, but I was on a roll.

About Climbing Downhill

Wife and mother of grown kids, in my 50's and dealing with MS, making life's moments count and trying to offer something of value to others along the way. https://climbingdownhill.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in This and That, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dream Bathroom

  1. Declan Groeger says:

    Enjoyed the read and even the loo humour. Remember that no job is finished until the paperwork is done

  2. JoAnne Simon says:

    Great post!

  3. Muff says:

    Like you, I’ve taken to critiquing public bathrooms and their accessibility. The neatest one I’ve seen so far was like a personal powder room. It had plenty of space in which to maneuver a scooter or wheelchair, and it had tons of grab bars — even in the middle of the ‘stall.’ There was also a sink right in the stall, lower than normal with easy to reach automatic soap and towel dispensers. I wanted to take it with me!

  4. Pingback: Adventures in Resting | Climbing Downhill

Leave a Reply

