Funnel Shaped Foliage

I watched their progress out the front window of our home.  Seeing them sprout each year seems the same, yet new, every time.

They grow rather tall.  Last year we were sure we had a look alike weed trying to take them over, but this year we think the sprouts might do a practice run/season before producing blooms.  We don’t know much about them – their proper name, best growing conditions, etc.,  and I think if we researched it, it could take the fun out of experiencing them as they happen.

There seem to be many different kinds.  Most people are familiar with Easter lilies.   I know that peace lily plants are popular at funerals.  Where I grew up, there were an abundance of striking orange and black tiger lilies.  Around here, bright yellow daylilies flourish.  The lilies in our yard are a pretty pink, and even different shades of such.  We didn’t plant the bulbs (we have the previous owners to thank for that).  A few  years ago, we hired out a landscaping project that could have affected their survival, and we often forget to water them.  Yet they grow.  We just assume they will show up each year, and they do.  This year, they have grown even better than before.

My MS and current physical state bring with them valid concerns.  Meeting basic needs is beyond my ability, so I need help to survive.  “What if” worries pile up sometimes.  I look at the lilies and remember reading about them in the Bible.

  

The book of 1 Kings talks about the tops of pillars being in the shape of lilies (1 Kings 7:19 and 22), Psalms includes songs with the word “lilies” in them, and the book of Song of Solomon mentions gardens of lilies and gathering them.  Luke 12:27-32 says “Consider the lilies how they grow: they toil not, they spin not; and yet I say unto you, that Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.  Do not be afraid, little flock, for your Father has been pleased to give you the kingdom.”  The Bible is full of wisdom; some of it easy to understand and some parts can be challenging.  There’s no doubt that it clearly tells me not to worry, and I struggle with that at times.

The lilies in our yard and all around the world come and go in their season; but they are more than foliage.  These pictures and the words of God are a year-long reminder to me of God’s peace and provision.  I hope they are the same for you.

 

About Climbing Downhill

Wife and mother of grown kids, in my 50's and dealing with MS, making life's moments count and trying to offer something of value to others along the way. https://climbingdownhill.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in MS/Multiple Sclerosis, People Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Funnel Shaped Foliage

  1. chmjr2 says:

    Today you were my lilies growing in the field. Your strength and faith are great examples in how to face life.

  2. Barb says:

    We too have some of these lilies growing in our yard…thanks for reminding me of their beauty…I truly enjoy those plants/flowers that appear each year with no care by us…!!
    Barb

  3. Sandra Burns says:

    I simply love lilies…..their uncomplicated form, their waxy countenance. Thanks for reminding me how “Biblical” they are!

Leave a Reply

