Glenda’s Garden

Glenda and I have been friends since 7th grade when we shuffled textbooks and folders in school lockers next to each other. We also both played the flute in band, although Glenda always played better than I did.  Glenda is one of those genuine Midwestern gals that you like right away and keep liking.  She is also a gardener….and apparently a budding photographer.

Awhile back, Glenda posted pictures on Facebook of the flowers in her yard. They brightened my day and left such an impression on me that I found myself thinking of them into the evening and night.  Trying to describe them in my half sleep – half awake state led to a personal game of words and alliterations.  Following are Glenda’s pictures and my descriptions.

 

ggGlenda’s garden is a flowing fountain of fabulously flourishing fragrant flowers and a fantasy of foliage.

gw19

It is a heavenly haven of horticultural hues.

g2  gw23

Her bright back yard of balanced buds and blooms bubbling and bursting upward beckons me to view more of her beautiful botanical bounty.

It is a venue of vibrancy, a wildlife wonderland.

gw17 gw7

My deeply downcast mood defers to the delightful distraction of the dainty daisies where they were distributed as part of a  detailed design.

Appearing like a daytime fireworks display, this explosion of nature creates a paradise parade.

g5 g3  gw12 gw5

g13In a lavish landscape of lilies, I notice the carefully cultivated contours clothed in clusters of color and likely covered by carefully crawling caterpillars.

g1  gw8     gw01

I am mindful that this is a marvelously maintained mountain of a mastered medley of miniature miracles; a tastefully tended terrain of textures.

gw9  gw4

g4My eyes pour over a plethora of petals poised in position to pop into plump purple peaks perfectly performing for photographic pleasure or gathered posies.

g12

g11-2  gw14

g10The yard is a relaxing refuge where one can roam through radiance, while a rustic relic reaches out from the past.   The site summons you to stroll or sit among the shades of scented scenery.

g7 gw20 gw21 gw22

 

I’ve noticed that many of the pleasures I enjoy now, like these blooms, are rooted in my past.  When I was a girl, my mother would take my sister and me to visit Mrs. Swenson, her older friend down the street who had gorgeous gardens.  With delight, we would smell and touch the flowers tended by the daintiest of ladies.  A true artist, her perfectly decorated house filled with her paintings was as skillfully pieced together as her gardens. When she spoke to my sister and me, she naturally bent to our level and her words were laced with warmth as she called us sweetie and honey in a melodic voice.  She was a joyful woman in a happy place.

59a-with-mrs-swenson

Friends and flowers mixed together create a bouquet of blessings.  Thank you, Glenda, for sharing your garden through pictures, it brought back old memories and created new pleasures.

 

About Climbing Downhill

Wife and mother of grown kids, in my 50's and dealing with MS, making life's moments count and trying to offer something of value to others along the way. https://climbingdownhill.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in People Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Glenda’s Garden

  1. chmjr2 says:

    Very beautiful pictures. Some of them should be framed. Your friend has a wonderful garden and has the talent to photograph it also.

  2. Glenda says:

    Thank you Kerri. Your words make my pictures so much more meaningful to me! I will treasure this forever. I am so lucky to have you as a life long friend. Sending my love and hugs!

Leave a Reply

