Moments in Time – Dogs

As has happened often, I saw a picture on my computer and it reminded me of a similar picture from another time. I put these photos together to compare back then and more recently. It was fun to put the pictures side by side. Twenty-four years later, I was the same person but had a different dog.

1977-2001 b (2)

Another dog picture created more of a challenge.  I saw the picture a week or two before my Mom came to visit.  It was taken two months after I was born.  I had been given a stuffed dog for Christmas.

6

It’s not the case with every item from my past, but I realized that I do still own quite a few items that are as old as I am.  That stuffed dog was indeed in my basement in a container marked “memories”.

Around college age, I saw the fabric on it was fraying, so I bought a remnant piece of fur at a store and carefully cut and sewed it onto the dog’s old plaid covering.  Mr Legs, always willing to please me, dug out that dog from a Rubbermaid bin in the basement.  With it nearby and my Mom safely here, we set our creativity to reenact the pose. It was far from easy due to my increased size and decreased mobility, but we ended up with something somewhat similar.

dog6

They say a year of a dog’s life is equal to about seven years of a human life.  That would mean 56 human years is 393 dog years.  That’s a long life for a dog!

About Climbing Downhill

Wife and mother of grown kids, in my 50's and dealing with MS, making life's moments count and trying to offer something of value to others along the way. https://climbingdownhill.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Family History, Family Matters, Moments in time, People Stories, Then and Now and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Moments in Time – Dogs

  1. Cath says:

    What a great post and recreation! Special memories that will never change! 🙂

  2. Thank you Mary. I’m glad you came by.

  3. That’s a great photo “re-creation!” So neat to share.

Leave a Reply

