Rocky Mountain High?

rm

John Denver wrote and sang a song called Rocky Mountain High.  When it topped the charts in 1973, I was just starting high school.  I saw the meaning of the title and lyrics as they were meant, describing a feeling derived from being in the majesty of a mountain range.  Wikipedia states that when questioned, “Denver publicly explained that the ‘high’ was his innocent description of the sense of peace he found in the Rockies”.  But the title could easily represent something else.  With recent law changes, especially in Colorado, Rocky Mountain High now makes me think of a different kind of “high”.   

pot2We all know what I’m talking about.   Pot, weed, grass, cannabis, reefer – they are among the many names for marijuana.  The idea of using it sits right outside the realm of possibility for me…..or does it?

It’s not legal in my state, even for medicinal purposes for my condition….yet.  My MS symptom of stiffness is one of the things it is used and known to be effective for elsewhere, so I must admit the possibility of trying it is on my mind.

Years ago, as well as today, even thinking about smoking pot seemed naughty to me.   But now, since I no longer drive or have children at home, my use of a medicinal help wouldn’t negatively affect anyone else.

I ask myself the question “if it was legal, would I try it?”.  I would have to consider that the relaxing effect it has may possibly magnify other symptoms I contend with. But the temptation of its possible positive results draws me closer to considering it as a medicine.  If I try it and it’s effective, it could make a dramatic difference in my days.

What do you think?  If it becomes legal, should I try it?  Even if it’s not legal, is it something I should consider?  Please comment below and share your opinion.

pot1

 

About Climbing Downhill

Wife and mother of grown kids, in my 50's and dealing with MS, making life's moments count and trying to offer something of value to others along the way. https://climbingdownhill.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in MS/Multiple Sclerosis and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Rocky Mountain High?

  1. Declan Groeger says:

    I can’t tell you what to do in terms of treatment or no treatment but I am a bit reticent about trying pot even if it becomes legal here. I think I would be willing to gamble on stem cells though as that treatment seems to be gathering momentum as a main stream treatment. I probably never will try it as it seems to be very expensive and it is too big a gamble.

    • I see those as two different things really – stem cell treatment addresses MS itself and medicinal marijuana helps some cope with symptoms. Spasticity can be brutal and affects all movement. I’m amazed at what I’ve learned about it so far – they can modify its composition to separate its effects choosing how it influences a person. Altering it allows it to target certain affects while eliminating other unwanted affects.

      • Declan Groeger says:

        You’re absolutely correct they are two different things but I thing that I would prefer to address the overall problem than tackle a part of it

  2. Cath says:

    Good question. I can still hear my parents “say no to drugs.” Just doesn’t seem like an option right now…stay tuned! 🙂

  3. Johan says:

    Hello Climbing. I think you should do what you want. Follow your heart and all that happy horse stuff. I am a 45 year old white dude diagnosed with SPMS in 2012 April, living clean and sober with the help of the 12 step program for over 25 years now. When I smoke weed I am not myself, I am someone else, a drug induced version of myself, incapable of honestly being who the universe intended me to be. But that’s just me. If smoking weed (or however one would take it medicinally) helped my condition, slowed the progression, whatever, I would consider it like I do most other things. But I have a sneaking suspicion it would not do that. I think it would make me high like the old days and take my mind off of reality for a while. But that’s just me. Maybe for you it will ease your pain and make this life a little better. If so and you like it and it is what you want, have at it and Godspeed. Seriously. Thanks for blogging.

    JE

    • Johan – I appreciate it when people take the time to leave their thoughts. Your experience and opinion are valuable to me. Thank you. Right now, I’m collecting information and could stay at this stage for a long time.

Leave a Reply

