Refreshed

I woke to the sound of light rain tinkling on the windows.  We haven’t had rain in awhile and I’d missed its sound.  It wasn’t an angry rain, it was simply and softly refreshing the ground that badly needed it.  I had fallen asleep with the television on and the channel last visited was showing beautiful scenery in Europe.  As I have been prone to do, I left the  remote on my lap before my eyes closed and it was nowhere to be found.  While I was curious where the images were from, I was at least temporarily limited to seeing them and not hearing about them.  So while my eyes were filled with beautiful pictures and my ears were soaking in the rhythm of the rain, I prayed.  I thanked God for the wonders of His creations.  It had been awhile since we had a good talk.  I had allowed my time and my mind to become cluttered with worry.  My soul was dry.  While I had been reading the words He’d given, I hadn’t been talking to the Writer.

As I sat in the presence of the God who created me and poured out my heart, He listened and He cared.  Then, in the stillness before the day started,  He reassured me of His love and pointed out all of the blessings He had been sprinkling on me.   And then, when the time was right, He pointed out my failures. Like the rain, He wasn’t angry, He just allowed me to soak in what I needed.  He didn’t stop there.  He gave me a new and better way of viewing things.  I had missed His voice.  My grateful heart reappeared.

Like the rain, I had missed our time together.  I feel refreshed by both the rain and His reign.

rain2crown4 (2)

 

About Climbing Downhill

Wife and mother of grown kids, in my 50's and dealing with MS, making life's moments count and trying to offer something of value to others along the way. https://climbingdownhill.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in This and That and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Refreshed

  1. Love this post – it was refreshing like the rain. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

