My Very Own Jewel From Janie

Not too long ago, we got together with friends.  To my surprise, Janie came in with a gift, wrapped in this lovely paper.

photo 3 (2)

We ate our meal and visited.  The mysterious package still sat in the room and my curiousity had mounted.  I opened the gift and gasped.  Then I put my glasses on and it became even more beautiful.   This gift is a creation made with Janie’s artful hands.  It’s whimsical design is both unique and eye-catching.  Who would ever think to put all of these skilled talents/forms of artwork on one piece of art?  Well….Janie would, of course!

Here is her beautifully designed one-of-a-kind masterpiece.

IMG_6172 (2)  5 IMG_6195 (2)

I can’t get over how perfectly uniform it is. The spacing matches on all sides, as you can see by the turned picture.

Showcased in the middle is a piece of her lovely tatting and it is  surrounded by her other talents which include hand applique,  embroidery, hand quilting and beading.

And there were words stitched on the back, a message to…ME.  My name emblazoned on it for all to see.  The words went on to list the kinds of work.

4 IMG_6197 (2)  IMG_6198 (5)

I cannot fathom how someone takes ordinary pieces of cloth and floss and, with their hands and mere needles, designs and creates such an intricate piece of beauty.  Janie weaves love right into her work.

Her husband made just the perfect rod to use with it so it can be hung on the wall.  I can’t wait to hang it in my home, but I will wait long enough to think it through and ensure it is in the perfect place – somewhere prominent so it can be noticed and shown to everyone who comes to my house.

I am now the proud owner of Janie’s art.  My personal jewel from Janie, made just for me.  Like Janie, it is valuable to me.  And Janie has made me feel valuable by giving me this gift of herself.

Thanks Janie!!

NOTE: If you haven’t seen Janie’s other creations, please take the time to view my posts “The Jeweled World of Janie”, Parts 1 and 2 in my “People Stories” category.

About Climbing Downhill

Wife and mother of grown kids, in my 50's and dealing with MS, making life's moments count and trying to offer something of value to others along the way. https://climbingdownhill.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in People Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Very Own Jewel From Janie

  1. Oh gosh this is beautiful! I enlarged the pictures on my iPad and all of it is stunning. How precious to be given this; you have certainly been gifted with a part of her. So talented.

  2. Love the wrapping paper too!

  3. Thanks Christine. The pictures don’t even do it justice. It’s such a piece of art.

  4. Im going to have a look back at your other posts about Janie’s work

  5. Catherine says:

    Priceless value of friends! Daily smiles to you from her work of love! 🙂

Leave a Reply

