Exercycler – Leg Saver

After sharing this post with someone, I was told that the link is outdated. Here is a link that should work:

http://www.overstock.com/Sports-Toys/Sunny-Motorized-Mini-Exercise-Bike/2497745/product.html
This is actually where I ordered mine, but it wasn’t available when I posted my blog in February. When the physical therapist suggested this cycle, I was not excited about it. I could not peddle it at all under my own leg strength and reasoned to myself “why bother?” BUT I was willing to try. I started with a slow cycle speed. I increased the time and speed over a period of time. When the motor stopped, I would work hard to move my legs on their own (my stronger leg really does most of the work).  Somehow the cycle trained my legs to do the movement. Over the following weeks and months, I increased the time I peddled on my own power and can now do so for up to an hour. I’ll restate that I am certain that using this cycle to exercise my legs is the only reason I am able to stand, transfer and even still walk some with my walker. It has maintained and strengthened what I still had when I started. It helps decrease spasticity and increases circulation.
The best exercise one can get is walking and this is the closest I can get to walking some days. It was an invaluable investment for me.

Climbing Downhill

 

t_SF-B02%20MOTORIZED%20%20L

I’ve had an interesting variety of physical therapy from sports therapists who know nothing about MS and created fear, to an expert on MS that did wonders for me. I’ve used much of the advice that was given to me, but the best I had was to order an electric cycle that worked my legs even when I can’t under my own power. The strength that my legs have maintained and gained from working the cycle (now up to an hour – woot!) has allowed me to continue to stand, transfer and walk some. Great invention!  http://www.sears.com/sunny-health-fitness-sunny-motorized-mini-bike/p-00632704000P

I also do a workout with 2-pound weights for my arms that maintains enough strength in them to lift the parts of me that don’t work.

What kinds of exercises help you?

View original post

About Climbing Downhill

Wife and mother of grown kids, in my 50's and dealing with MS, making life's moments count and trying to offer something of value to others along the way. https://climbingdownhill.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in MS/Multiple Sclerosis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

