A Hobby Gone Wild – Part 5

I’m happy to share favorite pictures from one more side of the family, starting with this rather startling one.

2d- Grandmother Taylor George Taylors mother

You may ask why on earth this would be one of my favorites.  And the answer would be  because there’s a story that goes along with it.  While going through old photos with my husband’s paternal grandma, Ellie, I listened as she freely told stories from her past.  As I looked into her eyes, I saw her mentally unroll the years of her life as she traveled to people and places that were nestled in the safety of her memory.  The years had melted away and she spoke with the emotions of her youth when she said about the woman in the picture “I never liked her much and she always wore black”.  In that moment, as a grandparent was remembering a grandparent,  I was struck by the contrast between the grandma in the picture in front of me and the one sitting next to me.  One was remembered as cold and wearing black, the other would be remembered as warm and loving.  And it caused me to wonder how I will be remembered.

During another visit, Ellie offered me a scarf that had belonged to this woman, her Grandmother Taylor.  Never refusing something that belonged to family, I readily accepted.  As I look at it all these years later, it is actually quite lovely, and black of course.

IMG_5553

I don’t have the details of this woman’s life. Perhaps she grieved for a husband or child until she died herself.  Perhaps she was without hope.  Whatever her reason for always donning the dark color, it left a lasting impression on my husband’s grandma and maybe others as well.

I just may wear the black lace scarf sometime, but I’ll wear it with a bright color so I don’t give an impression of being cold and uninviting.

This picture is of my husband’s grandma, Ellie, when she was a girl.  She was on an outing with her mother and aunts.   This was one of the first pictures I scanned and I was excited when I realized I could enlarge it on the computer and see the details so much better.

3-MATI~13-MATI~1 (2)3-MATI~1 (3)  3-MATI~1 (4)

This is one of only a few pictures of Ellie as a young woman.

17- Eleanor Taylor 1920

This is Grandma and Grandpa’s wedding picture, and then a picture of them later in life.

28- Loxley and Eleanor Newell's Wedding Photo28-  Eleanor and Loxley Newell (2)

This was taken at their 50th wedding anniversary.

49d- 1978 Sept 1 Loxley and Eleanor 50th Anniversary

My husband’s grandpa was comfortable outdoors.  He hauled wood as a second job during the depression.

36- Lox Newell hauling pulp about 1930 (second job during depression)

On the way, he set traps, and on the way back, he emptied them.  He caught a lot of rabbits.  Foxes too.

35- Loxley Newell Rabbit Hunting 37- Loxley Newell Fox Hunting

He hauled milk also and set traps on that route as well.

29- Loxley Newell Hunting

He loved to deer hunt and the hunting time with his buddies.

30- Loxley Newell Deer Hunting about 1930  32- Loxley Newell sitting (Hi Getchell on far right)

Of course he hunted bear too, and did a good share of fishing.

33- Foster Newell, Loxley Newell Bear Hunting about 192534- Loxley Newell second from Left

Here’s Grandpa many years later, with Chip the dog.  Don’t be fooled by Chip’s appearance.  This incredibly talented dog sent my husband birthday cards every year as he grew up.  I wouldn’t have believed it myself if his mother hadn’t kept them as proof.

46- Lox on back porch on Fourth Street with Chip

Grandma and Grandpa had two sons.  Here they are as boys.  The one on the right is my husband’s father.

73- Jim, Dick and dog

Here he is grown up in his Air Force uniform.  He served in Korea.

88- Dick (Richard L) Newell Air Force Picture

I hope you can tell from my posts that my husband is made with premium DNA passed down from hard-working and interesting people. I’m grateful for the pictures that make their stories come alive.  Thanks for taking the time to look at them with me.

About Climbing Downhill

Wife and mother of grown kids, in my 50's and dealing with MS, making life's moments count and trying to offer something of value to others along the way. https://climbingdownhill.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Family History, Scanning Pictures and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Hobby Gone Wild – Part 5

  1. Catherine says:

    The history and beautiful stories remembered through your pictures. Thank you for sharing!

  2. My Odd Sock says:

    You have great insight behind each picture.
    No one ever smiled in old photos. I wonder when smiling became the norm?
    Thanks again for sharing!

  3. Great photos. You’ve inspired me to drag out my aunt’s old photo albums.

Leave a Reply

