A Hobby Gone Wild – Part 2

In my long-term frenzy of scanning family photos, I have come across some images that soften my heart, some that bring laughter, and some that make me scratch my head.  I hope you will enjoy looking at these as much as I enjoy sharing what are priceless relics to me.    I’ll be starting with my Dad’s family.

This is my paternal Grandma and Grandpa on a picnic.

21- pg48

Here is their wedding picture.

26c- Pete and Dora Simon wedding day

My Dad’s Dad died when I was just two years old, so I never really knew him.  Here he is as a boy with his twin brother.

2b- Pete and Al Simon

And here he is with one of his sons, my father.

1c- Dora says Jim and his Daddy

Here is my Dad with his sister.  Could they get any cuter?

2b-

This is my Great Uncle Al with his truck.  A few years before I took this picture, I visited him on my own and rode in that truck traveling at 25 mph on the highway.   That seemed to be its maximum speed in  spite of the zooming traffic behind and around us.  It was a nail-biting experience.

38a- Al Johnson by truck Jim Simon in background (2)

This is my paternal Grandma and her mother, always affectionately referred to by all of her ten children as “Ma”.

19a- Dora says my mother and I on the back steps (2)

This is my Great-grandmother Ida (Ma), after an impressive Wisconsin snowfall.  I never met her, but did often meet the outhouse that the shoveled path leads to.

10- Ma Johnson about 1940

Here is Ida in her farming elements of animals and crops.

34a- Ma Ida with cows 37- pg41 (2)

I can’t identify the men in this photo, but I’m pretty sure I can identify what the machine is in front of them.  Can you?

maybe a still

Never saw watermelon cut this way before (lengthwise).  Perhaps one must wear a funny hat while eating it this way….?

pg10 (different way to eat watermelon)

The writing on this picture says “Bessie and Ruth”.  You guess – costume party or cross-dressing?

pg56 (2)

Looking forward to sharing more in my next post.

About Climbing Downhill

Wife and mother of grown kids, in my 50's and dealing with MS, making life's moments count and trying to offer something of value to others along the way. https://climbingdownhill.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Family History, Scanning Pictures and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Hobby Gone Wild – Part 2

  1. My Odd Sock says:

    Cool pictures of a bygone era.
    Children back then always remind me of the Little Rascals.
    It is great that you have background info (who, what, where) of each picture.
    Thank you for sharing!

  2. Catherine says:

    Your picture passion is awesome! What a huge undertaking. Thank you for sharing your very special photos. 🙂

Leave a Reply

