Rewards Program

Countless hours scanning, labeling and organizing photos have reaped many personal benefits.  One of the warm fuzzies I enjoy is the hope that my children, grandchildren and/or descendants will appreciate the hours of work put into the photo collections.  I love the way my own memories and those of others combine with pictures to tell stories.

Although the collections will not be considered complete until the remaining pictures are borrowed, scanned and incorporated into what exists, much has been done already and the collections are fun to look at.  To share what is done so far, I sent one collection on CDs to aunts and uncles in that family.

IMG_5411 (2)

It was so good to hear from them that they received and enjoyed the pictures.    I requested that they let me know about any mistakes, and I’m glad one aunt didn’t hesitate to tell me about items that were in wrong files or out of order for date.  Good to know about and correct those things.

IMG_5406  IMG_5407

It has been many years since I had a paying job.  It’s been awhile now since I’ve volunteered anywhere.  It still feels personally satisfying to complete a job and do it well.  I spend the time doing this as a gift to myself and others.  I don’t expect anything in return when the photos are shared, but it’s sure nice to have others acknowledge and enjoy what I spend my time doing.  I feel rewarded with their thank yous.

Next week, we’re traveling to visit family and trade CDs of photos I’ve scanned for additional photos to add.  Someday, I may have exhausted the supply of pictures, but I suspect it will continue to be an ongoing project, offering many rewards along the way.

About Climbing Downhill

Wife and mother of grown kids, in my 50's and dealing with MS, making life's moments count and trying to offer something of value to others along the way. https://climbingdownhill.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Family History, Scanning Pictures and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rewards Program

  1. chmjr2 says:

    Something I should be doing myself. Perhaps I will make it a winter project.

  2. Catherine says:

    Great post! A true gift of love for you and your family! 🙂

  3. stephen says:

    i too have started and stopped scanning pix from several volumes of photos, ranging back 30 years. it is a lengthy and often boring process, but i fear both the ravages of time – paper photographs fade – and the unimaginable threat of a fire destroying all those pictures. i certainly have the time!

  4. My Odd Sock says:

    With organizing photos, there is always work to be done! Who doesn’t have a box or bin of photo’s “I’ll get around to someday.”
    Great that you are making strides!

Leave a Reply

