Stories Without Words

I started scanning pictures to the computer years ago and it has morphed into ridiculously huge computer files of family history on all four sides.  Every time I think I’m done, a new file or plastic bin of pictures or another video tape is discovered in the recesses of someone’s closet or basement and the task continues.

scanner2

I love pictures.  I guess most people do.  My own pictures tell me stories from my past that I may have otherwise forgotten.   One glance at an image captured brings a flood of memories.  Facts and feelings once pushed to the corners of my mind are time warped, standing front and center by the mere visual flash of a place or person I once was.

But what about pictures of places I haven’t been?  And what about photographs of people I haven’t known?

When is the last time you let your fingers slowly stroll through a photo album?  In contrast, most of us are on the computer every day.  With a series of simple clicks, we are taken to visual memories of a person or place of our choosing.  When viewing an ordered collection of snapshots from another person’s life, a story never lived by me can be known and experienced by me.  In essence, while viewing and scanning pictures, I have been reading stories without words.   There are some scribbled notes on select pages, but much of the story is left to the imagination in a fill-in-the-blank sort of way when paragraphs or whole chapters of the book are missing.  Still, at this point, I feel like I know some of my long passed relatives better than many of those still living!  And I have grown quite fond of a few of them.

I’ve heard it said that one should write about what one knows. So I’ll be writing about some of the people in my family tree and introducing the story characters to you.  I hope you will find them as interesting as I have.

Who shall I begin with?  Stay tuned.

pg12 right Dora JohnsonArt with hat and cigarNina Trusty Vredenburg (2)

About Climbing Downhill

Wife and mother of grown kids, in my 50's and dealing with MS, making life's moments count and trying to offer something of value to others along the way. https://climbingdownhill.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Family History, Scanning Pictures and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stories Without Words

  1. chmjr2 says:

    Each and every picture is a story. I can understand very well your, “ridiculously high computer files of family history”. Look forward to more of your postings as I have many times.

  2. Sarah Lomas says:

    I uploaded a new picture application, and of course, it asked me some questions to help sort the pictures into different categories and groups. I was actually thinking along the same lines as you, that maybe I need to look again at these photos, and look at the story they tell.

  3. Sarah, I’ve never used a picture application. Should I be intrigued or scared? I don’t think I would even be able to put a story of pictures together if I didn’t put the pictures in files by person and then ordering them by date (at least guessing). It’s all very time consuming, but I have fun doing it. Maybe I’m missing an easier way of doing things. Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

