Two Knees in a Bod

peas

I’ve always liked the mind picture in the expression “two peas in a pod”.   Some things, however, don’t belong in the same place.  Knees, for example, should each have their own space in the movement of a body, working together, but in separate directions.  MY knees, unfortunately, have decided they would like to join together as if there were some great advantage to being stuck to each other with what seems like industrial magnets.  This, of course, makes walking a bit of a challenge.  They are two knees in a bod that are too close.

imagescaatzi3x (3)

I spend the bulk of my walking energy trying to convince them that there is value in the way they historically worked independently.  Movement of my legs in anything that resembles walking feels like it has slipped into a memory.

Thankfully, I had a session with a physical therapist a couple of months ago who gave me some exercises to strengthen the outer part of my upper legs with the hope that they will regain the job of straightening my legs while upright.  I think it’s working.  At least it’s better than it was.

I wonder if other MSers have had this issue and what they’ve done about it.

I did find something that keeps my knees apart while sleeping and doing some exercises.  http://www.amazon.com/NeckBone-Chiropractic-Pillow-Original-Bones/dp/B009AMM5X4/ref=lp_3732111_1_16?ie=UTF8&qid=1370609067&sr=1-16

About Climbing Downhill

Wife and mother of grown kids, in my 50's and dealing with MS, making life's moments count and trying to offer something of value to others along the way. https://climbingdownhill.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in MS/Multiple Sclerosis and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

