Ping Ping Pong

Like a white sphere bouncing off paddles and a table in a feisty game of ping pong, my thoughts ricochet in my brain.  Flying thoughts are hit by the sweet spot of the paddle and land on target as they bounce back and forth.

pong

Very early morning.  It’s my best time of day.  Not sure why.  I suspect it might be a result of the long five-hour stretch of sleep all at once (hey, everything’s relative) or a lull in medications.  I see no need to greatly analyze it, I simply enjoy it.  When it happens, I remember that it used to feel  like this all the time.  My favorite word to describe it is “sharp”.  More than one word?…”on my game”.  Before the sun comes up, my brain works effectively, each spark plug firing as it’s suppose to.  I can think of something for hours later in a day with no hope of any productive idea surfacing, but in those early hours between two and five o’clock when I wake, logical solutions and creativity flow.  I’ve learned to carry pen and paper in my scooter to scribble down cryptic messages to myself that can be referenced later in the day when the sparks are not so easy to come by.   It lasts an hour or two, and during that time I am who I used to be before my brain started to shrink and medication gummed up the mechanics of thinking.

I thank God that I can sleep.  Many can’t.  I sleep soundly and peacefully for a chunk of time.  It may not compare to others’ 8-10 hours, but I take what’s given to me.  And I am thankful that I have the luxury of napping during the day if need be.

If you have any questions, please don’t call or stop by at that time of day for I live with normal people who keep and sleep normal hours.  Out of kindness and respect for them, I quietly slip in front of my computer screen and into the internet where there’s always something to do and blank documents on which to tap out thoughts and ideas.

I believe it’s my serve.  PING!

pipo

About Climbing Downhill

Wife and mother of grown kids, in my 50's and dealing with MS, making life's moments count and trying to offer something of value to others along the way. https://climbingdownhill.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in MS/Multiple Sclerosis and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

