THE GARAGE – My House

I sure liked my house, but my house wasn’t loving me back.

Something had to be done. With my physical abilities decreasing, the entrances, hallways and doorways were becoming obstacles for me; and certainly wouldn’t be workable long-term. My husband and kids had all been happy with our house too. Even so, I searched the internet for available homes for sale in the area we live in. Nothing I saw could equal the advantages we enjoyed in our present home and no desired vacant land was available that could compete with our existing location. I saw no place that would require any less work to become accessible than the home we were living in. But still, something had to change.

And so, my imagination did calisthenics as I looked at the rooms of my home, sliding walls and expanding doorways in my mind. Eventually, with help from contractors and a brief meeting with an architect, two realistic plans developed in my head and then on paper. After weighing the advantages and disadvantages of both, Plan B won over Plan A. After meeting with three potential contractors, we chose one whose team would be our daytime houseguests for the following months.

Expectations were shared, papers signed, money changed hands and tools and workmen greeted us every morning at 8:00 a.m. We lived amongst boxes and dust as our furniture changed rooms multiple times in the game called remodeling. Every room on the main level was altered, and most of our belongings on the main level vacationed in the lower level at least briefly.

Five months later, after repeatedly dusting every inch of what we owned and settling everything back but in different places, we welcomed the final product – our new home!

In posts that follow, I’ll share what was done overall and to each room, what we love and what we wish we’d done different.

About Climbing Downhill

Wife and mother of grown kids, in my 50's and dealing with MS, making life's moments count and trying to offer something of value to others along the way. https://climbingdownhill.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in House Remodel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

