Poem – Window Pain

untitled

WINDOW PAIN

From my window

I see them.

They walk.  They talk.

They come.  They go.

Some do not know

That I used to do

What they do.

And the rest likely won’t remember.

A leg that used to help carry me

Now anchors the rest of me

On this side of my window

Where I watch the flow

Of life.

Once having the joy of giving

I can now only receive

Searching for value

As I become an item

on a chore list.

I struggle to hold on

To parts of me that can

Still give to you

To at least contribute

And be of some value

On this side of the window.

The other side of the window

Doesn’t miss me

But I long to be

Who I was

When I walked out the door.

I miss the me

I used to be.

About Climbing Downhill

Wife and mother of grown kids, in my 50's and dealing with MS, making life's moments count and trying to offer something of value to others along the way. https://climbingdownhill.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in MS/Multiple Sclerosis and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Poem – Window Pain

  1. This is a wonderful poem. Thank you for visiting my blog; Im pleased to have found yours 😊

    Christine

Leave a Reply

