SPARE TIRES – Scootin’ Along

Scooters are my preferred wheels and I’m so grateful for the one I have. I do have a wheelchair procured through insurance, but it’s my scooter I use the most. I like having the controls in front of me. I like being in something smaller that steers easily and maneuvers in and through tight spaces.

This is my scooter. 81942000508_155x155_a

http://www.walgreens.com/store/store/brands/general_brand.jsp?N=360595+309782&catId=360595&brandId=309782
It’s listed today for $599. Shipping was free and it came straight to my house. Some people are wary of 3-(instead of 4) wheel scooters thinking they aren’t sturdy, but I’ve never had a problem with stability. It comes apart in three pieces and is easy to disassemble. It works perfect for most everywhere, but steep angles do strain the battery. I have no problem in stores or at home where the ground/floor is flat. I’ve had it for 3 years. It has a small battery. The reviews on the Walgreen’s website are right – the battery lasts quite a while, but once it starts to drain, it drains pretty fast, so you do have to watch the needle. You get to know the gauge pretty well. . When the battery started to drain faster between charging, I took it to a Batteries Plus store and had the two battery cells replaced which cost half as much as a new battery and it took only about 20 minutes to be done.

It does have an annoying beeping when moving backward, which I haven’t been able to disable.  Because it’s small and made to be light, it doesn’t have the most comfortable seat. I shopped online and found a great cushion. It fits on my scooter seat just right and can be easily taken off and put on a regular chair if I choose to get off the scooter.
http://www.amazon.com/GSeat-MOBILITY-Wheelchair-Gel-Cushion/dp/B000X2DOJE/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1360344130&sr=8-4&keywords=g+seat+gel+cushion

The basket it comes with is nice, but it does make the scooter longer, so I choose not to use it. For a while, I hung my purse on the handle when I went places, but it looked clunky, finding things quickly was an issue, and around home I hadn’t figured out how to have my phone with me and easy to reach. I found a handy bag that hangs on the handles. It was advertised as a baby stroller caddy, but it works well on my scooter, wheelchair and walker and can move from one to another.
http://www.target.com/p/diono-stroller-organizer-buggy-buddy/-/A-13957930?ref=tgt_adv_XSG10001&AFID=Google_PLA_df&LNM=%7C13957930&CPNG=Baby&kpid=13957930&LID=PA&ci_src=17588969&ci_sku=13957930

What machines and attachments do you recommend?

About Climbing Downhill

Wife and mother of grown kids, in my 50's and dealing with MS, making life's moments count and trying to offer something of value to others along the way. https://climbingdownhill.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Mobility Equipment and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

